Maman Poulet | Clucking away crookedly through media, politics and life

Green Party State Board Appointees

January 3rd, 2010 · 23 Comments · Green Party, Irish Politics

Colin Coyle in today’s Sunday Times reports on the appointment by Minister John Gormley of two former Green Party Councillors to the board of the Private Residential Tenancies Board where they can earn up to €25,000 per year in fees and expenses.

Indeed one of the former councillors was one of a few electoral successes for the party in the last local elections – in terms of holding onto a seat.  But Vincent Martin has surprisingly quit his town council seat in November.  (You may remember my interview with Vincent at the Green Party Convention in October)

This lark of appointing former Green Party councillors to State boards would of course not be news to readers of Maman Poulet.

Before Christmas I published the list of new appointments to the boards of the National Disability Authority.  Caroline Burrell a Green Party Former Bray Town Councillor was appointed to the board.

Maybe it’s of use when observing any other appointments to state boards in the coming months to see the list of other former councillors and have it available for reference.

Former County Councillors Not Elected

Terence Corish, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown (Dundrum);
Joe Corr, Fingal County Council (Balbriggan);
Dorothy Corrigan, South Dublin County Council (Clondalkin);
Gene Feighery, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown (Dún Laoghaire);
David Healy, Fingal County Council (Howth-Malahide);
Ruairi Holohan, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown (Blackrock);
Tom Kelly, Meath County Council (Slane);
Robbie Kelly, Fingal County Council (Howth-Malahide);
Tom Kivlehan, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown (Ballybrack);
Vincent P Martin, Monaghan County Council (Carrickmacross);
Tony McDermott, Dublin City Council (Crumlin-Kimmage);
Ciaran O’Brien, Wicklow County Council (Bray);
Niall O Brolchain, Galway City Council (Galway City West);  [Now a Senator]
JJ Power, Kildare County Council (Naas);
Alan Price, Carlow County Council (Borris);

Former Town Cllrs Not Relected

Caroline Burrell, Bray;
Dominick Donnelly, Passage West;
Frank Gallagher, Letterkenny;
Stephen Kilgallon, Balbriggan
Steve Matthews, Bray;
JJ Power, Naas

Of course this lark is not only something that the Green Party play at before the Young Greens come commenting. But it’s not supposed to be in the party of ‘no brown envelopes and jobs for the boys/girls’ playbook?


Tags: ··

23 Comments so far